Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


UNP revamped: Working Committee approves new office bearers

The Working Committee that met under the patronage of UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe at the Sirikotha party headquarters today (13), has approved the new office bearers for 202.

Accordingly, former general secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam has been appointed as the assistant leader while Palitha Range Bandara has been appointed as the new general secretary. Former minister Vajira Abeywardena has been appointed as the chairman and ASM Misbah has been appointed as the treasurer.

D. M. Swaminathan and Arjuna Ranatunga have been appointed as the senior vice chairmen of the UNP while Daya Gamage, Sagala Ratnayake, and Sunethra Ranasinghe have been appointed as vice chairmen.

Navin Dissanayake will retain his role as the national organiser of the UNP.

Meanwhile, Nalaka Kolonne has been appointed as the deputy secretary general of the UNP.

 Former UNP MP Anoma Gamage has been appointed as the assistant secretary.

The Working Committee also approved the appointment of Dr. Karunasena Kodithuwakku as the head of the policy and research division.

 President's Counsel Nissanka Nanayakkara will continue to function as the legal secretary of the UNP.

Sandith Samarasinghe has been appointed as the secretary of the Committee on International Affairs and Local Government.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found