Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


Sri Lanka Cricket announce new selection panel

User Rating: 5 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Active

A new National Selection Panel has been appointed ahead of Sri Lanka's tour of New Zealand, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said.

Accordingly, the new selection panel will be in charge of picking the national team going forward. The new panel will consist on the following members -

Mr Asantha De Mel – ChairmanMr Brendon KuruppuMr Hemantha WickramaratneMr Chaminda MendisThe previous selection panel met with Minister of Sports, Faiszer Musthapa, who thanked them for their services to Sri Lankan cricket. The previous Chairman of Selectors, Graeme Labrooy was present at the meeting. Labrooy has been in the role since September 2017.

De Mel, the new Chairman of Selectors, played 17 Tests for Sri Lanka between 1982 and 1986. He has also served as Chairman of Selectors in the past, taking on the role in 2012.  

The new selection panel’s first task will be selecting the team to tour New Zealand which gets underway next month.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found