Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


Five acting ministers appointed as President leaves for Germany

Several Acting Ministers have been appointed by President Ranil Wickremesinghe to oversee ministries under his purview during his official visit to Germany.

According to the President’s Media Division (PMD), the President left for Germany early this morning (Sep 27).

During his absence, the responsibilities of the ministries under his purview have been temporarily entrusted to the respective state ministers;

State Minister Premitha Bandara Tennakoon – Acting Minister of Defence

State Minister Shehan Semasinghe – Acting Minister of Finance

State Minister Kanaka Herath – Acting Minister of Technology

State Minister Anupa Pasqual – Acting Minister for Women, Children Affairs and Social Empowerment

State Minister Ranjith Siyambalapitiya – Acting Minister for Investment Promotion.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe left for Germany to deliver the opening remarks at the Leaders Dialogue session during the ‘Berlin Global Dialogue’ on September 28-29.

The PMD stated that subsequently, he will join a bilateral session with German Chancellor Olaf Scholz and the officials of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found