Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


Sri Lanka removes three provincial governors

The President's Media Division announced that the President has removed the governors of the Northern, Eastern, and North Western Provinces.

It was recently reported that the President's Office had requested the governors of the Sabaragamuwa, Uva, Northern, Easter, North-Western, and Western Provinces to step down.

However, the governors in response said that as no official communication was delivered to them, they would continue to function as governors.

On Monday (15) evening, the President had taken measures to remove Northern Province Governor Jeevan Thiagarajah, Eastern Province Governor Anuradha Yahampath, and North-Western Province Governor Admiral of the Fleet Wasantha Karannagoda.

The President's Media Division said the new governors will be appointed on Wednesday (17).

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found