Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


Budget 2023 : 2nd reading passed with a majority

The second reading of the Appropriation Bill for the year 2023 was passed with a majority of 37 votes in Parliament today.

A total of 121 MPs voted in favour and 84 MPs voted against, while 01 MP abstained from voting.

MPs Duminda Dissanayake, Jeevan Thondaman, and Priyankara Jayaratne were among the MPs who voted in favour of the Budget 2023.

Members of the opposition, including Opposition Leader MP Sajith Premadasa and MPs Rishad Bathiudeen, Kumara Welgama, Mano Ganesan, and Mathirpla Sirisena voted against it.

Meanwhile, Tamil Makkal Thesiya Kootan (TMTK) Leader CV Wigneswaran abstained from voting.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found