Language Switcher

v2025 (2)


Ranil Wickremesinghe elected President of Sri Lanka

Ranil Wickremesinghe has been elected by Parliament as the eighth Executive President of Sri Lanka.

Parliament convened at 10am this morning (20) under the patronage of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywarden to vote for the election of Sri Lanks’s next President.

Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Parliamentarian Dullas Alahapperuma and National People’s Power leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake were nominated for the position.

A total of 223 MPs out of the 225-member parliament cast their votes, out of which, four were declared invalid. Meanwhile, two members namely MPs Selvaraja Gajendran and G.G. Ponnambalam abstained from voting.

Wickremesinghe garnered a total of 134 votes, while MP Dullas Alahapperuma managed to collect 82 votes and MP Dissanayake secured 03 votes.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

Your comments are subjected to administrator's moderation.
terms and condition.
  • No comments found